top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaia Hutchison

NOIR


1. “I believe that words uttered in passion contain a greater living truth than do those words which express thoughts rationally conceived. It is blood that moves the body. Words are not meant to stir the air only: they are capable of moving greater things.” OR "To tell you the truth, I used to consider it a disgrace to be found ignorant by other people. But now, I find that I am not ashamed of knowing less than others, and I'm less inclined to force myself to read books".

The book pictured is one of the many books I read over the Spring Break


2. "I bear with my loneliness now, in order to avoid greater loneliness in the years ahead. You see, loneliness is the price we have to pay for being born in this modern age, so full of freedom, independence, and our own egotistical selves.”


I was sitting in the car one day, and I just was feeling a sense of peace, and some may say when your at peace you are isolated from the rest of the world.


3. “It is not you in particular that I distrust, but the whole of humanity.”


I was exploring Waikiki and took a picture of what I was seeing, people mostly. Then I remembered this quote and some people cannot be trusted as much as you want to.


4.“Like the first whiff of burning incense, or like the taste of one's first cup of saké, there is in love that moment when all its power is felt.”


I went to UH Manoa Art show and my favorite piece was the Japanese tea cups.



5. "I felt for her a love that was close to pious faith. You may find it odd that I use a specifically religious word to describe my feelings for a young woman, but real love, I firmly believe, is not so different from the religious impulse. Whenever I saw her face, I felt that I myself had become beautiful.”


This Is my digital art piece of Audrey Hepburn, a stunning women of her time.


6. "I’m trying to fend off your admiration for me, you see, in order to save myself from your future contempt. I prefer to put up with my present state of loneliness rather than suffer more loneliness later".


I was exploring photography and started taking photos of my dog Kona. It was my go to activity when I was bored.


7. “Or perhaps, after all, our differences spring form the individual natures we were born with”


Like Sensi's wife I took pleasure in seeing plants, especially because it is a primal time for plants. So I drew my favorite type of vine.


8. “My love for her was close to piety. You may think it strange that I should use this word, with its religious connotation, to describe my feeling towards a woman. But even now I believe—and I believe it very strongly—that true love is not so far removed from religious faith.”


9.“Until then I had floated at random, like a rootless aquatic plant, relying entirely on the opinions of others.”


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Game Day🏈

Game Plan: Today you will be attempting to find the ‘literary ghost’, so you will be playing a ‘cheap’ version of Clue or a mystery Candy Land. Instead of solving a murder you will find ‘who is Patric

bottom of page