top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaia Hutchison

Untranslatable Words that Express Feeling

Updated: Apr 7, 2019

MY word is trouvaille, which means a valuable discovery founded by chance.


Something discovered by chance is our Solar System. Here is something I drew to illustrate trouvaille.

This French word is so powerful, because in life just finding your place is such a valuable discovery. I love this word, because things do just happen and it shapes who you are suppose to become. In the novel, "The Sun is Also a Star", Natasha believes in science and how things don't happen just sporadically, while Daniel believes in chance and how everything happens for a reason, even if it's unexpected. The book is centered around Natasha, Daniel, and the Universe. How the universe positions two people at the same moment in time, and this forms relationships that weren't planned. That's the beauty of chance and serendipity. I have experienced trouvaille in many aspects of my life, like volunteering at Shriners. Now this might sound cliche, but I found myself lost. Lost in what I was suppose to do with my life. I had no idea if I wanted to become a Doctor or a profession in Politics, so I just thought if I submitted an application for Shirners maybe I could find my place, but I did not know. Six months later, I received word about my position and how I can start in a month. Now I am a Recreational Therapy assistant, and by chance I found what I want to do with my life. 




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page